Pre-Dental / Prerequisites
Prerequisites by school
Which courses each U.S. dental school requires or recommends, side by side. Every row links to the school's own page and shows when we checked it. Turn on My courses to see what you meet and what you're missing.
78 of 79 schools verified from official pages; 1 more marked low confidence.
Showing 79 of 79 schools
| · | Bio | Gen Chem | Orgo | Physics | Biochem | English | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Arizona Midwestern University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
2026-2027 MWU Arizona catalog, College of Dental Medicine-Arizona admissions section. | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required4 sem/6 qtr hrs with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs (lab not stated) | Required3 sem/4 qtr hrs | RequiredEnglish composition/technical writing 6 sem/9 qtr hrs |
|
Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral HealthRules & notes
Very long page; requirements found in the admissions section of the official page. | Required1 year, 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab; zoology or microbiology acceptable | Required1 year, 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required1 year, 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required1 year algebra-based, 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required3 sem/4 qtr hrs, 300-level or higher | RequiredEnglish composition/technical writing 3 sem/4 qtr hrs |
|
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Non-science majors: upper-level sciences beyond prerequisites or a post-bacc pre-dental program No individual grade minimum or course time limit stated. | Required3 courses, 12-13 credit hrs with lab | Required2 courses, 8-10 credit hrs with lab | Required2 courses, 8-10 credit hrs with lab | Required2 courses, 8-10 credit hrs with lab | Required1 course, 3-4 credit hrs | Not listed |
|
California Northstate University, College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology, Physiology, Statistics, Social sciences, Immunology, Foreign language, Cell/molecular biology, Histology, Sociology, psychology, history, arts, ethics Requirements stated in semesters/quarters/units rather than semester hours. | Required1 year (2 sem/3 qtr) with lab | Required1 year (2 sem/3 qtr) with lab | Required1 year (2 sem/3 qtr) with lab | Required1 year (2 sem/3 qtr); lab not stated | Required1 semester/1 quarter or 3 units | Required1 year college-level; AP/IB may count if undergrad school accepted it |
|
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Statistics, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Genetics, Anatomy, Physiology, Advanced cell biology, Histology, Neuroscience, Engineering, Ethics, Business, Psychology, Sociology, Epidemiology, Cultural anthropology, Arts/humanities (art, music, dance, media studies) No official CWRU page states whether the core science prerequisites need labs (the checklist only says recommended sciences need no concurrent lab; the 2026-27 bulletin has no admissions text). Also, case.edu/programs/dental-medicine-dmd lists a bachelor's or master's degree as required, while the checklist says 90 hours with degree only strongly encouraged. Online course and course-age policies not addressed. | RequiredAt least 6 sem hrs; lab requirement not stated | RequiredAt least 6 sem hrs, 2-semester or 3-quarter sequence; lab requirement not stated | RequiredAt least 6 sem hrs, 2-semester or 3-quarter sequence; lab requirement not stated | RequiredAt least 6 sem hrs, 2-semester or 3-quarter sequence; lab requirement not stated | RecommendedStrongly recommended pre-dental science (concurrent lab not required) | RequiredAt least 6 sem hrs English or similar reading/writing-intensive humanities | None listed |
Columbia University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Mathematics, Sociology, History, Fine or industrial arts, Foreign language(s), Upper-level science courses Page does not address grade minimums, AP, time limits, online courses or pass/fail; no entering-class year stated. | RequiredMin 8 credits (1 year) with lab | RequiredInorganic/general chem, min 8 credits (1 year) with lab | RequiredMin 8 credits (1 year) with lab | RequiredMin 8 credits (1 year) with lab | Required1 semester; lab not required | Required6 credits (1 year) composition or literature; a writing-intensive course in another department also counts | None listed |
Creighton University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Advanced science courses such as anatomy, physiology, histology (admission preference) No minimum course grade, course age limit, online or pass/fail policy stated. | Required8 sem hrs across at least two courses, with lab | Required8 sem hrs across at least two courses, with lab | Required8 sem hrs across at least two courses, with lab | RequiredGeneral Physics 8 sem hrs across at least two courses, with lab | Required3 sem hrs; no lab needed | Required6 sem hrs across at least two courses (composition, literature, comparative literature, certified writing, or writing intensive) | None listed |
East Carolina University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Comparative anatomy, General microbiology, Physiology / vertebrate physiology, Embryology/histology, Anatomy, Genetics and cell biology, Statistics, Humanities, Psychology Page references the 2025-2026 cycle, not explicitly the 2027 entering class. Online courses not addressed. Page also lists biochemistry among recommended courses, but it is now required. | Required8 sem hrs, full year with lab; general biology or zoology for majors (botany not accepted) | RequiredGeneral/inorganic, 8 sem hrs, full year with lab | Required8 sem hrs, full year with lab | RequiredGeneral physics, 8 sem hrs, full year with lab | Required3 sem hrs (required starting 2025-2026 cycle) | RequiredEnglish composition, 6 sem hrs; ESL not accepted |
|
Harvard University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Behavioral sciences (e.g. psychology, sociology), Mathematics: 1 semester calculus + 1 semester statistics (biostatistics preferred) Verified directly on the official page in a browser (the automated reader was blocked). | Required1 year with lab; should include cellular and molecular biology; AP biology not accepted (upper-level biology can replace it) | RequiredPart of a required 2-year, 4-course chemistry sequence (inorganic, organic, biochemistry) with lab | RequiredPart of the 2-year chemistry sequence, with lab | Required1 year; lab recommended, not required | RequiredPart of the 2-year chemistry sequence | Required1 year of writing-intensive coursework; AP not accepted | None listed |
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USCRules & notes
Recommended: Biochemistry, Anatomy, Histology, Physiology | Required1 year with lab (8-10 units min) | Required1 year inorganic/general with lab (8-10 units min) | Required1 year with lab (8-10 units min) | Required1 year with lab (8-10 units min) | Recommendedlisted among recommended upper-division sciences | Required1 year English composition; waived with U.S./Canadian bachelor's |
|
High Point University Workman School of Dental Medicine and Oral HealthRules & notes
Recommended: Cell/molecular biology, Genetics, Histology, Human anatomy/physiology, Microbiology/immunology, Embryology, Medical terminology, Statistics/biostatistics, Calculus, Psychology/sociology, Plus humanities, business, and advocacy-oriented courses grouped by CARE role FAQ lists specific courses (gen chem, ochem, biology, medical terminology, calculus) only for the BS/DMD Dental Medicine Scholars track, explicitly not for general applicants. Statuses above are 'recommended' because courses appear only on a non-required preferred-course menu. | RecommendedGeneral biology listed as a sample/preferred course, not required | RecommendedSample/preferred course, not required | RecommendedSample/preferred course, not required | RecommendedSample/preferred course, not required | RecommendedSample/preferred course, not required | RecommendedWriting/composition/technical writing listed as a sample course | None listed |
Howard University College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Physiology 4 semester hrs (unless combined with Human Anatomy), Microbiology 4 semester hrs Page does not list a general biology requirement separate from Human Anatomy with lab; verify if a general bio line is expected. Physics lab inferred from the 'with Lab' heading. | Not listedNo general biology line; Human Anatomy with lab (4 sem hrs) is the required biology course | RequiredInorganic chemistry with lab, 8 semester / 12 quarter hrs | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with lab | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with lab | Required3 semester / 5 quarter hrs | RequiredEnglish composition and literature, 6 semester / 9 quarter hrs |
|
Illinois Midwestern University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Source is the 2026-2027 Midwestern catalog (Downers Grove CDMI). | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | Required4 sem hrs (6 qtr) with lab | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr); lab not stated | Required3 sem hrs (4 qtr) | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr) English composition/technical writing |
|
Indiana University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Immunology 3 sem hrs Biochemistry and English are options within broader requirements rather than standalone required courses. | Required20 sem hrs biological sciences total, 13 from: Human Anatomy with lab (4), Physiology (3), Microbiology (3), Cell Bio/Biochem/Molecular Bio (3) | RequiredGeneral (or Inorganic) Chemistry I/II with labs, 8 sem hrs | RequiredOrganic Chemistry with lab, 4 sem hrs (12 sem hrs chemistry total) | RequiredGeneral Physics I/II with labs, 8 sem hrs | Not listedNot a standalone requirement; one option for the 3-hr Cell Biology/Biochemistry/Molecular Biology requirement | Not listedNot a standalone requirement; English Composition is one option for the 3-hr humanities requirement |
|
Kansas City University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Biochem is one option of 'Microbiology or Biochemistry', so not strictly required. AP, online, pass/fail, total credit minimums, and course time limits not stated. | RequiredGeneral biology (zoology or similar OK) 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) lecture + lab | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) lecture + lab | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) lecture + lab | Not listedNo standalone physics requirement; physics may count toward 12 sem hrs of additional biology/chemistry/physics | RequiredMicrobiology OR biochemistry 4 sem hrs (6 qtr) lecture + lab | RequiredEnglish composition/technical writing 6 sem hrs (8 qtr) |
|
Larkin University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Rechecked the requirements page (only official source; the 2025-26 university catalog has no DMD admissions section). Still no credit hours per course, the number of higher-level science courses is unstated, and the bachelor's-required line conflicts with the 90/120-credit admission note. Applications are on hold pending CIE approval, so the list may change. | RequiredGeneral Biology with lab if offered, plus Human Anatomy and Physiology (or separate Anatomy and Physiology, or A&P I and II); hours not stated | RequiredGeneral Chemistry I and II with labs if offered; hours not stated | RequiredOrganic Chemistry I and II with lab if offered; hours not stated | RequiredPhysics I and II; hours not stated | RequiredBiochemistry; hours not stated | RequiredEnglish I (100 level) and English II (200 level or higher) |
|
LECOMRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy 3 semester hrs, Physiology 4 semester hrs, Microbiology 4 semester hrs, Physics 4 semester hrs, Cell biology, Histology, Immunology, Molecular/genetic biology Physics is recommended, not required, at LECOM. | Required8 semester hrs including 2 hrs lab | RequiredInorganic/general chemistry 8 semester hrs including 2 hrs lab | Required8 semester hrs including 2 hrs lab | Recommended4 semester hrs | Required3 semester hrs | Required6 semester hrs of composition emphasizing technical language skills | None listed |
Lincoln Memorial University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy & Physiology 4 sem hrs, Biochemistry 4 sem hrs, Cellular & Molecular Biology 4 sem hrs, Histology 4 sem hrs English hours still conflict across official LMU pages: the online CDM catalog (application process) and the lmunet.edu DMD program page both say 8 sem hrs, the CDM admissions page says 6. Record now leads with 8 (2 of 3 pages); the catalog page shows no year, and the 2025-26 catalog PDF did not yield a prerequisite list. AP, online, pass/fail and time limits not stated. | RequiredGeneral biology 8 sem hrs lecture + lab | RequiredInorganic/general chemistry 8 sem hrs lecture + lab | Required8 sem hrs lecture + lab | Required8 sem hrs lecture + lab | Recommended4 sem hrs | Required8 sem hrs per CDM catalog and LMU DMD program page; admissions page says 6 sem hrs | None listed |
Loma Linda University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Histology, Human gross anatomy, Systems physiology, Microbiology, Cell and molecular biology, Immunology, Neuroscience, Genetics, Ceramics, Management, Developmental psychology, Accounting, Nutrition From 2026-2027 LLU catalog; dentistry.llu.edu program page not separately re-read. | Requiredfull year with lab, 8 sem/12 qtr units | Requiredfull year with lab, 8 sem/12 qtr units | Requiredfull year with lab, 8 sem/12 qtr units | Requiredfull year with lab, 8 sem/12 qtr units | Required1 semester, min 4 sem/6 qtr units; lab not required | Required2 sem/3 qtr composition (incl. literature); satisfied by a bachelor's degree | None listed |
Louisiana State University Health Science Center School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Comparative Anatomy, Histology, Cell & Molecular Biology, Physiology, Genetics, Embryology, Virology Page says labs 'where appropriate' without naming which courses need lab; hours not labeled semester vs quarter (assumed semester). No stated grade minimum, online-lab policy, or time limit. | Required12 hrs Biology/Zoology; labs where appropriate | Required8 hrs; labs where appropriate | Required8 hrs; labs where appropriate | Required8 hrs; labs where appropriate | Required3 hrs | Required9 hrs composition or literature in English dept (ENGL/WRIT/LIT codes) |
|
Lyon College School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Lab requirements, AP and online policies not stated on official pages. | Required12 sem hrs (18 qtr) biological sciences; general bio, microbiology, genetics, A&P and similar count; lab not specified | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr); physical chem or quantitative analysis also count; lab not specified | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr), science-major level; lab not specified | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr), science-major level; lab not specified | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr), in addition to the 12 biology hours | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr), college-level; remedial/developmental/ESL not accepted | None listed |
Marquette University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Cell biology, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Math, Humanities and social sciences Grade minimums, AP, online, pass/fail, and time-limit policies not stated. | RequiredBiology/zoology 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab; max 4 hrs botany count; zoology/comparative vertebrate anatomy preferred | RequiredGeneral inorganic chemistry 8 sem hrs (at least 2 courses) with lab; a quant/qual analysis course may replace one | Required8 sem hrs (at least 2 courses) with lab | RequiredCollege physics 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr), no lab; must be taken at a four-year institution | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr): composition, literature, and/or comparative literature |
|
Medical University of South Carolina College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Biochemistry marked 'not listed' as a standalone requirement, but it can fulfill the required upper-level science elective credits. | Required8 credits biology or zoology with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Not listedNot required separately; one allowed option for the 8-credit upper-level science electives | Required6 credits (composition, rhetoric or literature) |
|
Meharry Medical College School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy/Physiology (strongly recommended), Microbiology (strongly recommended), Histology/Cell Biology (strongly recommended), Genetics, Molecular Biology, Pharmacology Course list from Prerequisites page; AP, online and time-limit rules from the Admissions FAQ page. | RequiredGeneral Biology or Zoology with lab, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr hrs) | RequiredInorganic Chemistry with quantitative analysis, with lab, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr hrs) | RequiredOrganic Chemistry with lab, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr hrs) | RequiredGeneral Physics with lab, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr hrs) | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr hrs), no lab listed | RequiredEnglish Composition 6 sem hrs (9 qtr hrs) |
|
Missouri School of Dentistry & Oral Health at ATSURules & notes
2026-27 ATSU University Catalog (MOSDOH admission requirements) states the full prerequisite list with hours and labs for first-year DMD applicants, matching the school website. This resolves the earlier doubt that the list appeared only on the Still Scholars and international-track pages. | RequiredGeneral Biology 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | RequiredAlgebra-based, 8 sem/12 qtr hrs with lab | Required3 sem/4 qtr hrs, upper division (website: 300-level minimum) | RequiredEnglish composition/technical writing, min 3 sem/4 qtr hrs |
|
NEOMED Bitonte College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Statistics (health-related) 3 sem hrs, College algebra or calculus 3-4 sem hrs, Microbiology 3 sem hrs, Cell biology 3 sem hrs, Biochemistry II 3 sem hrs | Required8 sem hrs biological/life sciences with lab | Required8 sem hrs general/inorganic chemistry with lab | Required8 sem hrs, Organic Chemistry I and II with lab | Required3 sem hrs, algebra- or calculus-based; lab not specified | Required3 sem hrs | Not listed | None listed |
Nova Southeastern University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Upper-division anatomy, Physiology, Cell biology, Molecular biology, Histology, Genetics, Immunology | Required8 semester hrs with lab | Required8 semester hrs with lab | Required8 semester hrs with lab | Required8 semester hrs with lab | Required3 semester hrs | Required6 semester hrs |
|
NYU College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: 100+ hours dental shadowing (recommended) Credit hours per course not given. AP, online and pass/fail not addressed. | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab | RequiredInorganic/general, 2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab | Not listed | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters English or writing-intensive; ESL not accepted | None listed |
Ohio State University College of DentistryRules & notes
Page lists OSU course numbers, not credit hours; equivalent hours depend on applicant's school. | RequiredBiology 1113 and 1114 (two-course intro sequence; labs required when part of the listed course) | RequiredChemistry 1210 and 1220 (or 1206, 1208 and 1220) | RequiredOrganic Chemistry 2510 and 2520 | RequiredPhysics 1200 (one course) | RequiredBiochemistry 4511 or PHR 3200 (one course) | RequiredEnglish composition 1110.01 (one course) |
|
Oregon Health Sciences University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy (human, vertebrate or mammalian) one year, upper-division, Physiology one year, upper-division, Cell/molecular biology, Microbiology, Genetics, Neuroanatomy, Histology, Pathology, At least 3-4 upper-division (300-400 level) science courses Page gives course lengths, not credit hours. | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters general biology with labs, as a sequence | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with labs, as a sequence | Required2 semesters / 2 quarters with labs, as a sequence | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with labs, as a sequence | Required1 semester / 1 quarter; lab highly recommended but not required | RequiredEnglish composition 2 semesters / 3 quarters (or minimum required by bachelor's degree) |
|
Pacific Northwest University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Requirements page says labs do not count (lecture-based only), while the mapping page lists some '+lab' course equivalents; no labs required either way. | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr) general biology or zoology; lecture-based | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr); lecture-based | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr); lecture-based | Required3 sem hrs (4.5 qtr) general physics; lecture-based | Required3 sem hrs (4.5 qtr) general biochemistry | Required3 sem hrs (4.5 qtr) |
|
Ponce Health Sciences UniversityRules & notes
Recommended: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Genetics, Microbiology Program page (updated 8/20/26) Before You Apply and Admission Requirements tabs list DMD course credits but never mention labs, while the same page's MD lists say 'with laboratory'. The PHSU catalog DMD entry (catalog.phsu.edu) could not be loaded; search excerpt of it also shows no lab wording. Lab requirement, grade minimum, AP, online and course-age policies remain unconfirmed. | RequiredGeneral biology 8 credits; lab not stated for DMD | RequiredGeneral chemistry 8 credits; lab not stated for DMD | Required8 credits; lab not stated for DMD | RequiredGeneral physics 8 credits; lab not stated for DMD | RecommendedRecommended additional course | Required12 credits; can drop to 6 if proficiency shown (US honors/A- or 3.60 GPA in English, PHSU exam, or CLEP) |
|
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Histology, Cell Biology, Embryology Single DMD admissions page covers both Roseman campuses (Henderson NV and South Jordan UT); no per-course hours given. | Required6 semester courses of biological sciences, with lab if offered (hours not specified) | Required2 semester courses inorganic/general chemistry, with lab if offered | Required2 semester courses, with lab if offered | Required2 semester courses, with lab if offered | Required1 semester course | Required2 semester courses of Communication/English/Speech; ESL not accepted | None listed |
Rutgers School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Minimum total credits, degree, grade minimums, course age, online and pass/fail policies not stated on the page. | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Not listed | Required6 sem hrs | None listed |
Southern Illinois University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Cell and Molecular Biology, Histology, Immunology, Genetics, Neural Science/Neural Physiology | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr); lab not stated | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr) | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr), or satisfied by a completed BA/BS | None listed |
Stony Brook University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Social sciences, Statistics, Upper-level sciences such as anatomy and physiology No entering-class year stated for prerequisites; DAT note references the 2026-2027 cycle. | Required2 semesters, 8 credits with lab | Required2 semesters, 8 credits with lab | Required2 semesters, 8 credits with lab; a 3-semester combined general/organic sequence with labs may be considered | Required2 semesters, 8 credits with lab | Required1 semester, 3 credits | Required2 semesters writing-intensive, 6 credits |
|
Temple University Kornberg School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Histology, Physiology Temple 2026-27 Graduate Bulletin (Dentistry DMD) clearly states the requirements and matches the temple.edu admissions page; school DMD page's '32 science credits' is consistent (4 x 8). | RequiredMin 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredMin 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredMin 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredMin 8 sem hrs with lab | RecommendedAdvanced science exposure highly recommended | Required6 sem hrs | None listed |
Texas A&M University College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Histology, Neuroscience, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Biochemistry II, Upper-division (3000+) Anatomy and Physiology preferred over combined A&P Lab requirements for chem/physics not specified on the page (TMDSAS norm includes lab). No time limit on course age stated. | Required18 sem hrs biology minimum (15 lecture + 3 formal lab), must include Anatomy, Physiology and Microbiology | Required8 sem hrs | Required8 sem hrs | Required8 sem hrs | Required3 sem hrs | Required6 sem hrs |
|
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso-Hunt School of DentistryRules & notes
Page wording on degree is mixed (90 hrs minimum; also mentions baccalaureate with 90 credits). AP credit, online courses and course-age limits not addressed. | Required14 sem hrs biological sciences (12 lecture + 2 lab); 21 qtr hrs | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required3 sem hrs, in addition to the 14 biology hrs | Required6 sem hrs college English; no remedial/developmental/ESL |
|
The Dental College of Georgia at Augusta UniversityRules & notes
Recommended: Organic Chemistry II (highly recommended) Found the current Admission Requirements Summary page (cycle for entering class of 2027, cites class of 2026 averages). It replaces the old page with 2024 dates and raises minimum GPA from 2.8 to 3.00 and adds DAT minimums. School defines courses by academic year/semester, not credit hours. | Required1 academic year principles of biology with labs (or equivalent) | Required1 academic year principles of (general/inorganic) chemistry with labs | RequiredOrganic Chemistry I with lab, as part of the 1-year advanced chemistry requirement; Organic II optional but highly recommended | Required1 semester (or 2 quarters) with lab | RequiredBiochemistry I, lab optional, as part of the 1-year advanced chemistry requirement | Required1 academic year (or the portion required for the bachelor's degree at a US accredited school) | None listed |
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry and Dental ClinicsRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology 3 sem hrs (strongly recommended; becomes required starting with the 2027-2028 admissions cycle), Anatomy, Physiology, Genetics, Histology, Public speaking, Art Microbiology is recommended for the 2026-27 cycle (class entering 2027) and required from the 2027-28 cycle on (likely class entering 2028). | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with labs | Required3 sem hrs (5 qtr), no lab; organic sequence is a prerequisite | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr); two composition courses preferred, or one composition plus one writing-intensive literature/humanities/public speaking course | None listed |
Touro College of Dental Medicine at New York Medical CollegeRules & notes
Credit hours not given. Only 1 semester of organic chemistry listed. Grade minimum per course, AP, time limits and pass/fail not stated. | RequiredGeneral biology, 2 semesters (or equivalent) with lab | Required2 semesters (or equivalent) with lab | Required1 semester (or equivalent) with lab | Required2 semesters (or equivalent) with lab | Required1 semester, with or without lab | Required2 semesters (or equivalent) or completion of undergrad school's English requirement | None listed |
Tufts University School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Genetics, Physiology, Microbiology, Immunology, Pharmacology, Neuroscience, Histology Writing requirement is a writing-intensive humanities/social science course, not strictly English. No online or time-limit policy stated. | Required2 semesters (8 credits) with lab plus 1 upper-level biology (3 credits) | RequiredInorganic Chemistry 2 semesters (8 credits) with lab | Required1 semester (4 credits) with lab | Required2 semesters (8 credits) with lab | Required1 semester (3 credits); lab only if part of course at that school | Required1 semester writing-intensive humanities or social science (e.g. English, History, Philosophy) |
|
Universidad Ana G. Méndez Gurabo School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Rechecked the official admissions page: the requirements section is written in English (no translation needed) and clearly lists required courses with credits and labs, totals, GPA and DAT rules. | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Not listed | Not listedNo English course; languages may count within the 30-credit social/behavioral/humanities block; must communicate in English and Spanish |
|
University at Buffalo School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Histology (strongly recommended), Microbiology (strongly recommended), Higher-level biology and chemistry for non-science majors, Psychology, Sociology, Public speaking, Composition, Humanities AP, time limits, online, pass/fail and community college not addressed. | RequiredGeneral biology, 2 semesters, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | RequiredGeneral/inorganic, 2 semesters, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | Required2 semesters, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | RequiredAlgebra- or calculus-based, 2 semesters, 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) with lab | Required1 semester, 3 sem hrs (5 qtr), no lab | Required2 semesters incl. composition, 6 sem hrs (8 qtr) | None listed |
University of Alabama School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Biochemistry, Upper-level human/animal biology, Analytic geometry and calculus, English 6 sem hrs, Social sciences/humanities, Manual dexterity courses (e.g., sculpture, painting) Physics lab wording is soft ('should be included'). Listed minimums sum to 72 sem hrs; no total stated. | Required12 sem hrs general biology or zoology; upper-level human/animal biology recommended | Required8 sem hrs general inorganic chemistry (incl. qualitative analysis) with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs (mechanics, heat, light, sound, electricity); lab work should be included | Recommendedstrongly recommended | Recommended6 sem hrs strongly recommended (within non-science hours) |
|
University of California, Los Angeles School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Histology, Physiology, Human or comparative anatomy, Social sciences, Microbiology, Communication, Business, Composition/technical writing, Fine arts, Philosophy, Engineering, Classics Ochem listed under 1-year lab group yet only 6 sem/8 qtr hrs. | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with 1-year lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs inorganic/general with 1-year lab | Required6 sem/8 qtr hrs with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr hrs with 1-year lab | Required3 sem/4 qtr hrs, no lab | RequiredEnglish composition 6 sem/8 qtr hrs |
|
University of California, San Francisco School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology, Human anatomy, Physiology, Embryology, Histology, Comparative vertebrate anatomy, Genetics, Statistics Anatomy, botany, and descriptive elementary courses do not count toward biology. | Required8 sem/12 qtr units with lab, for science majors; vertebrate zoology strongly recommended; AP Bio counts but one lab course still required | Required8 sem/12 qtr units inorganic with lab; AP Chem 3-5 counts but one lab course still required | Required4 sem/8 qtr units with lab | Required8 sem/12 qtr units with lab; AP Physics accepted with one lab course still required | Required3 sem/4 qtr units; must be taken at a 4-year institution | Required2 courses, 6 sem/8 qtr units; AP English 3 = half, 4-5 = full |
|
University of Colorado School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Cell biology, Histology, Immunology, Physiology, Business management/finance, Psychology, Communications | RequiredGeneral biology or zoology, 8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with 2 labs; human anatomy, genetics, physiology, pathophysiology do not count | RequiredGeneral/inorganic chemistry, 8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with 2 labs | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with 2 labs | RequiredGeneral physics (algebra or calculus based), 8 semester / 12 quarter hrs with 2 labs | Required3 semester / 5 quarter hrs, no lab required | RequiredEnglish composition 3 semester / 5 quarter hrs; university-designated writing-intensive course also counts |
|
University of Connecticut School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Cell biology, Molecular biology / molecular genetics, Genetics Rechecked the predoctoral page and its FAQ (same URL); no catalog or other official page gives more detail. School defines courses by year/semester, not credit hours; labs come from the FAQ. Still unclear whether 'facility in English' means a required English course or just proficiency; no official page lists an English course. | RequiredOne year (2 semesters) general biology with lab | RequiredOne year (2 semesters) with lab | RequiredOne year (2 semesters) with lab | RequiredOne year (2 semesters) with lab | RequiredOne semester | Required'Facility in English' listed as a requirement; no English course or hours specified | None listed |
University of Detroit Mercy School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Physiology, Statistics, Sociology, Psychology (human behavior), Business, Upper-level (junior/senior) sciences AP and online course policies not addressed on page. | RequiredGeneral Biology or Zoology 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredInorganic/General Chemistry 8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required3 sem hrs | Required6 sem hrs; composition; up to 3 hrs literature may count after syllabus review |
|
University of Florida College of DentistryRules & notes
Lab requirements not specified on the prerequisites page. | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs | Required8 semester / 12 quarter hrs, with or without calculus | Required3 semester / 4 quarter hrs, upper-level (3000-4000) at a 4-year institution | Required6 semester / 8 quarter hrs |
|
University of Illinois at Chicago College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: 3-4 upper-level sciences for competitiveness: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Histology, Microbiology, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Immunology, Genetics (labs encouraged) Chemistry is a single 14 sem hr block; general chemistry hours are not broken out separately. | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr hrs) with lab | RequiredPart of 14 sem hrs (21 qtr) total chemistry with lab | RequiredAt least 4 sem hrs (6 qtr) with lab, counted within the 14 sem hrs of chemistry | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr hrs) with lab | Required1 course (lab not required) | Required6 sem hrs (9 qtr hrs) | None listed |
University of Kentucky College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Human anatomy, Cell biology, Embryology, Genetics, Histology, Immunology, Molecular biology, Animal and/or human physiology, Social sciences, history, literature, economics, philosophy, psychology Official current pre-dental requirements page clearly lists required courses by semesters/quarters (school does not use credit hours). The DMD admissions hub adds no further policies; total hours, degree, grade, AP and online rules are simply not stated by the school. | Required2 semesters or 3 quarters with labs | Required2 semesters or 3 quarters with labs | Required2 semesters or 3 quarters with labs | Required1 semester or 2 quarters general physics with lab | Required1 semester or 2 quarters | Required2 semesters or 3 quarters, emphasis on communications |
|
University of Louisville School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology, Upper-level human anatomy, Upper-level physiology, Histology, Immunology, Other upper-level human biology courses English not mentioned on the admissions criteria page. | Required16 credit hrs minimum; lab not specified | Required8 credit hrs with labs | Required8 credit hrs: Organic I and II, both with labs | Required3 credit hrs; lab not specified | Required3 credit hrs, in addition to the biology hours | Not listed | None listed |
University of Maryland School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Human Anatomy/Physiology, Cell & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Histology, Psychology, Sociology | RequiredGeneral Biology 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredGeneral/Inorganic Chemistry 8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required3 sem hrs; no lab | RequiredEnglish Composition 6 sem hrs | None listed |
University of Michigan School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Physiology, Histology, Public speaking, Genetics, Art Verified directly on the official page in a browser (the automated reader was blocked). | Required8 sem / 12 qtr hrs with labs | Required8 sem / 12 qtr hrs with labs | Required8 sem / 12 qtr hrs with labs | Required8 sem / 12 qtr hrs with labs | Required3 sem / 5 qtr hrs | RequiredEnglish Composition 6 sem / 9 qtr hrs; at most one literature course counts; must be taken in the US or Canada; ESL not accepted |
|
University of Minnesota School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Upper-division science electives strongly suggested, Art (3D drawing or sculpture), Cell biology, Histology, Human anatomy, Microbiology, Physiology, Genetics, Immunology, Statistics Preparing to Apply page (current 2026-27 cycle) states credits, GPA, S/N and course-age rules but links its prerequisite list to an external Google Doc, which was not opened under the official-domain rule. The only course list on the umn.edu domain is the Oct 2024 DDS brochure; no newer umn.edu copy or catalog entry was found, and AP policy is not stated. | RequiredGeneral Biology or Zoology, 8 sem credits incl. lab (zoology alone acceptable but not preferred) | Required8 sem credits incl. lab; complete basic series | Required8 sem credits; must cover aliphatic and aromatic series; one-semester courses generally insufficient; lab not stated | Required8 sem credits incl. lab; complete basic series | Required3 sem credits; course should have the organic chem sequence as prerequisite | Required6 sem credits; two composition courses preferred, or one comp plus one writing-intensive literature/humanities/public speaking course |
|
University of Mississippi Medical Center School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Foreign language, Sociology, Psychology, Speech, Humanities, Philosophy, Embryology, Histology, Immunology, Cell biology, Physiology, Gross anatomy, Neuroanatomy, Comparative anatomy Requirements given in semesters, not credit hours. Grade minimums, AP policy and course age limits not stated. | RequiredGeneral Biology or Zoology I and II, 2 semesters/3 quarters with lab | RequiredInorganic chemistry, 2 semesters/3 quarters with lab | Required2 semesters/3 quarters with lab | Required2 semesters/3 quarters with lab | Required1 semester (1-2 quarters); must be taken at a senior college/university | RequiredHumanities or English, 2 semesters/3 quarters; must include 2 semesters of writing-intensive humanities or social science |
|
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Cell biology, Histology, Microbiology, Molecular biology, Immunology, Genetics, Ethics, Statistics, Public health, Social sciences, Psychology, Nutrition, Business, Communications, Art, Ceramics, 3-D design, Spanish or other foreign language Page gives semesters, not credit hours. Labs required only if the institution offers one. Grade minimums, AP, online and pass/fail policies not stated. | RequiredGeneral Biology, 1 semester with lab if offered | RequiredChemistry I & II, with lab if offered | RequiredOrganic Chemistry I & II, with lab if offered | RequiredPhysics I & II, with lab if offered | Required1 semester, with lab if offered | RequiredEnglish Composition I & II or other writing-intensive courses |
|
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of DentistryLow confidence: confirm on the school's siteRules & notes
Recommended: Humanities/social science electives 26-28 sem hrs in suggested 2-year plan, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Cell biology, Comparative anatomy, Embryology, Genetics, Histology, Immunology, Microbiology, Physiology, Psychology, Scientific Greek or Latin, Statistics Rechecked the 2026-27 catalog and admissions page; no other official UNMC page lists required courses. The catalog still says students are 'encouraged' to take the listed courses yet calls them 'specified predental courses', and the admissions page calls them 'prerequisites and recommended courses' without saying which is which. Required vs recommended remains unresolved; core courses kept as recommended per literal wording. | RecommendedGeneral biology (life sciences) 8 sem hrs with lab | RecommendedInorganic (general) chemistry 8 sem hrs with lab | Recommended8 sem hrs with lab | RecommendedGeneral physics 8-10 sem hrs with lab | RecommendedListed among suggested electives | RecommendedEnglish composition 6 sem hrs | None listed |
University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Credit hours per course, grade minimums, AP, online, pass/fail and degree policies not stated. | Required1 year with lab | Required1 year with lab | Required1 year with lab | RequiredGeneral Physics 1 year with lab | Required1 semester or 2 quarters | Required1 year |
|
University of New England College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Human Physiology (strongly), Immunology (strongly), Pharmacology, Histology, Public Health, Ethics, 3-D Art (e.g. sculpture), Genetics, Business, Communications Physics is only an option within the 12-hr additional science block, not individually required. | RequiredGeneral Biology 4 sem hrs with lab (Zoology acceptable) | Required4 sem hrs with lab | Required4 sem hrs with lab | Not listedNot a standalone requirement; may count toward 12 hrs of additional Biology/Chemistry/Calculus/Physics | Required3 sem hrs; lab not required | Required3 sem hrs English Composition or Technical Writing |
|
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill School of DentistryRules & notes
| Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr): General Biology with lab plus Human Anatomy & Physiology with lab (both parts if split); multi-system courses plus vertebrate dissection may substitute | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr), two 4-hr courses with lab | Required6 sem hrs (10 qtr), two 3-hr lecture courses; lab not required | Required6 sem hrs (10 qtr), two courses relevant to living things; lab not required | RequiredUpper-level, 3 sem hrs (5 qtr); no lab | Required2 semesters, 6 sem hrs (10 qtr) |
|
University of Oklahoma College of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: 4 biology labs instead of the minimum 2 Program page lists courses under 'Prerequisites' without labeling each as required; treated as required. Catalog page (url2) returned no readable content. | Required16 sem hrs; at least 2 labs (4 labs preferred) | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required3 sem hrs | Required6 sem hrs |
|
University of Pennsylvania School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Microbiology, Physiology, Physical chemistry, Upper-division science courses, especially for non-science majors Chemistry is listed as a combined 3-semester general + organic requirement in either order, so the gen/organic split is not fixed. | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters general biology with labs (anatomy, micro, physiology do not satisfy) | RequiredPart of 3 semesters / 5 quarters chemistry with labs covering general and organic chemistry | RequiredPart of 3 semesters / 5 quarters chemistry with labs covering general and organic chemistry | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with labs | Required1 semester / 1 quarter; no lab required | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters composition or writing-intensive courses (literature, humanities, writing seminars accepted) |
|
University of Pikeville Tanner College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology 3 sem hrs, Histology 3 sem hrs, Additional advanced science courses Page does not state degree, minimum total credit hours, GPA, AP or online policies. | Required12 sem hrs minimum biology (recommended micro, histology, biochem count toward it); lab not specified | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Not listed | Recommended3 sem hrs, counts toward biology hours | Not listed |
|
University of Pittsburgh School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy 3 sem hrs Page gives no credit hours for prerequisites (except recommended anatomy) and does not state online course policy or physics lab. | RequiredBiology I and II with lab | RequiredChemistry I and II with lab | RequiredOrganic Chemistry I and II with lab | RequiredPhysics I and II (lab not specified on page) | RequiredOne course | RequiredEnglish I and II, writing intensive; at least one English/Literature | None listed |
University of Puerto Rico, School of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Biochemistry, Cell or Molecular Biology, Histology, Physiology, Anatomy, Microbiology, Genetics, Psychology, Ethics Admission Requirements guide AY 2026-2027 (rev. July 2026), applies to August 2027 admission. Credit counts are semester credits. | RequiredBiology or Zoology 8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | Required8 credits with lab | RecommendedHighly recommended | Required12 credits (6 honors/advanced/literature credits with A-C can substitute) |
|
University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of DentistryRules & notes
Page also mentions 97 total hours in the context of hours considered for admission; no time limit on course age stated. | RequiredGeneral Biology lecture and lab, 8 sem hrs | RequiredGeneral Chemistry lecture and lab, 8 sem hrs | RequiredOrganic Chemistry lecture and lab, 8 sem hrs | RequiredPhysics lecture and lab, 8 sem hrs | RequiredBiochemistry lecture, 3 sem hrs | RequiredEnglish Composition 6 sem hrs |
|
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Additional upper-level coursework beyond the minimums Read from the current UTHealth Houston academic catalog DDS page. Online course policy and course-age limits not stated. | Required14 sem hrs biological sciences (12 lecture + 2 formal lab); 21 qtr hrs | Required8 sem hrs incl. lab (6 lecture + 2 lab); Physical Chem/Quantitative Analysis may count | Required8 sem hrs incl. lab (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required8 sem hrs incl. lab (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required3 sem hrs, in addition to 14 biology hrs; biology, biochem or chem dept | Required6 sem hrs college English; no remedial/developmental/ESL |
|
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Microbiology/Virology, Human Anatomy, Biochemistry (upper-level), Cell Biology, Physiology, Pathology, Endocrinology, At least 30 sem hrs at a four-year institution (strongly recommended) Microbiology is not a separate required course here (listed as recommended elective). No course-age time limit stated. | Required14 sem hrs biological sciences (12 lecture + 2 lab); 21 qtr hrs | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required8 sem hrs (6 lecture + 2 lab) | Required3 sem hrs, in addition to 14 biology hrs | Required6 sem hrs college-level; no remedial/developmental/ESL |
|
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Biochemistry, Histology/Cell Biology Page footnote marker sits on biological sciences but the text concerns organic chemistry (2 semesters organic OR 1 organic + 1 biochemistry). Lab column says yes for bio, gen chem, ochem, physics. | Required4 semesters / 6 quarters of biological sciences with lab | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters inorganic chemistry with lab | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab; alternatively 1 semester organic + 1 semester biochemistry | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters with lab | RecommendedHighly recommended as part of the biology requirement; may substitute for the second semester of organic chemistry | Required2 semesters / 3 quarters of English, speech or communication; must include one composition or technical writing course; ESL does not count | None listed |
University of Utah School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Advanced head and neck anatomy, Business, Cell biology, Communications, Computer science, Ethics, Histology, Immunology, Molecular biology/genetics, Additional biology, chemistry and/or physics, 3-D art Page does not state per-course grade minimum, lab requirements other than micro lab, AP, online, or community college policy. | RequiredBiology 6 sem hrs (lab not specified) | RequiredGeneral/inorganic chemistry 8 sem hrs (lab not specified) | Required6 sem hrs (lab not specified) | Required6 sem hrs (lab not specified) | Required3 sem hrs | RequiredEnglish composition/technical writing 6 sem hrs |
|
University of Washington School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Social sciences and humanities (reviewed by the committee) Requirements are given in course counts (quarters/semesters), not credit hours. No minimum total credits, AP, online, or pass/fail policy stated. | RequiredGeneral biology or zoology, 3 quarters or 2 semesters | Required2 quarters or 1 semester | Required2 quarters or 1 semester | RequiredGeneral physics, 3 quarters or 2 semesters | RequiredGeneral biochemistry, 2 quarters or 1 semester | Not listed |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: 300-level+ biology courses, Behavioral science, Courses involving psychomotor skills, Microbiology/bacteriology, animal physiology, human anatomy, immunology, histology, genetics, embryology (per bulletin) Admissions page says grade C or better; the DDS bulletin says C- minimum. Online course/lab policy not stated. | RequiredGeneral biology 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) incl. lecture and lab; bulletin says zoology emphasis preferred over botany | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) incl. lecture and lab | Required8 sem hrs (12 qtr) incl. lecture and lab | RequiredCollege-level physics 8 sem hrs (12 qtr) incl. lecture and lab | Required3 sem hrs (4-5 qtr) | Required3 sem hrs (4-5 qtr); type of English course not specified |
|
West Virginia University School of DentistryRules & notes
Recommended: Cellular and molecular biology, Physiology, Microbiology, Embryology/developmental biology, Genetics, Psychology No minimum grade or GPA stated. | RequiredBiology or zoology 8 sem hrs with lab | RequiredGeneral/inorganic chemistry 8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required8 sem hrs with lab | Required3 sem hrs | RequiredEnglish composition & rhetoric 6 sem hrs; AP credit accepted |
|
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Recommended: Biochemistry, Genetics, Cell biology, Human anatomy & physiology, Microbiology, Calculus 1, Biometrics, Psychology, Conversational Spanish Current requirements page (2026-27 cycle, 2027 entering class) now renders and lists courses, units, labs and policies; it confirms the earlier search-snippet claims (no intro-level courses, no summer courses before matriculation). Biochemistry changed from not listed to highly recommended per this page. | RequiredGeneral biology with lab, min 8 sem / 12 qtr units, full-year sequence; not an introductory course; may include zoology, anatomy, physiology, cell/molecular biology, histology, etc. | RequiredGeneral or inorganic chemistry with lab, min 8 sem / 12 qtr units, full-year sequence; not introductory | RequiredWith lab, min 8 sem / 12 qtr units, full-year sequence; not introductory | RequiredGeneral physics with lab, min 8 sem / 12 qtr units, full-year sequence; not introductory | RecommendedNot required but highly recommended | RequiredCollege English/English composition, 6 sem / 9 qtr units; writing course from English dept or one meeting the GE writing requirement; literature with writing may count; no speech/communication or ESL; writing-intensive courses from other departments need syllabus review | None listed |
Yeshiva University College of Dental MedicineRules & notes
Catalog (updated 7-28-2026) supersedes older catalog text that listed biochemistry 3 and physics 3 credits; biochemistry no longer listed for 2027 entry. | Required8 credits, two semesters with in-person lab | Required8 credits, two semesters with in-person lab | Required8 credits, two semesters with in-person lab | Required8 credits, two semesters with in-person lab | Not listed | Required6 credits, two semesters | None listed |
“Required” and “Recommended” follow each school's own wording; course counts, lab rules and AP/online-credit policies are in the details. Requirements change between cycles, so confirm with the school before you plan your schedule. Spot something out of date? Use “Request an edit” on that row, or send us a suggestion. Related: School Match · Pre-dental checklist